A Few of my Favorite Things…

blackandwhitecookiedonutsmosaic3

Above are four of my favorite black and white items that are changing my life at the present moment: Clockwise from bottom left, they are:

1. Sephora Formula X Meteoric nail polish: a fashion-forward top coat that’s currently revolutionizing the world of nail art! Pricey but worth it!

2. White Tiger: Gorgeous. Majestic. Endangered. Need I say more?

3. Skinny Cow Ice Cream Treats: if you haven’t filled your freezer with these healthier ice cream miracles, do so now. They offer novelties and portion-controlled ice cream cups to serve all taste buds, and each one is lower in calories and higher in calcium and protein than your typical mainstream frozen dessert.

4. (I’m most excited about this one at the moment…) Baked Black & White Cookie Donuts! Who knew it was possible? Soft, light cake donuts infused with luscious lemony flavor, dressed to impress half in chocolate, half in vanilla. These are one of my best baked donuts of all time. They do not taste healthy, but they are: made with whole wheat pastry flour, sweetened with agave and lemon curd instead of sugar, lower-calorie than traditional baked goods, and with the vanilla glaze featuring Truvia baking blend, these donuts are a guilt-free treat to make in celebration of one of the most delicious cookies in history. So go! Make them now! Full recipe here.

Black and White Cookie Donuts pic

I made the mosaic above using Big Huge Labs, a free online photo editor with lots of cool gizmos. After searching the web for an eternity looking for a free site that WORKS to make cool images out of my photos, and a big dramatic incident where I spent over an hour editing a photo on a bad site and then the page froze, I finally reached out to my aunt for help. She really knows her way around the internet, and gave me the link to this site that I’ve been frequenting ever since. May not be strictly black and white, but I guess Big Huge Labs is also on my favorite object list. (And no, they did not pay me to write this!)

The lower image, with the cool text, was made on Ribbet, a site my mom and aunt both love that I decided to give a spin one day. It has a lot of different options, especially with text, frames, and customize-able effects. Personally, I find my Ribbet photos end up looking fun and artsy, whereas with Big Huge Labs I feel my finished product looks a bit more professional. Neither site is better or worse, it’s just a matter of your personal preference and needs. Go ahead and check them both out!

Image credits for mosaic (clockwise starting with top left)

http://www.freewebs.com/claimingblackhills/Characters/jaya_mishka_seon_ge-tae.html

http://thehealthyapron.com/2011/05/31/is-it-healthy-skinny-cow-ice-cream/

Donut pic is mine!

http://pianofingernails.blogspot.com/2013_12_01_archive.html

2 responses

  1. I would never have thought of these 4 items as belonging together!

    1. Well, in real life, the tiger would probably make a meal out of the skinny cow, who might just steal the black and white cookies. I guess not all my favorite things would mesh so well in real life!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

