A Mini Waffle Triumph!

sunbeam mini waffles chocolate

I’m the kind of person who waits to spend my gift card money until long after the holidays have passed, and I’ve had plenty of time to dream on just how I desire to spend that money. That way, the fun of the holidays can be extended into that depressing cold, holiday-less time that drags on forever after New Year’s. This year, I got several Amazon gift cards for Hannukah. I finally brought myself to spend some of the dough on one of the last days of winter break, and ordered a few things I’d been longing to have in my kitchen cupboard, including a mini waffle maker. I spent the next week or so anxiously awaiting the arrival of a special brown box addressed to me, and when it finally came I was a bit reluctant to open it – I didn’t want the excited anticipation to be over. Finally, when I could no longer stand it, I tore open the ominous package to reveal the glistening blue Sunbeam Mini Waffle Maker I’d ordered. My thoughts were now consumed by the prospect of trying it out.

The next morning, I arose with a mission to put that waffle maker to use. All the recipes included in the manual were for some gigantic yield of waffles, which I’m sure would have served me well if I were the chef for the army of a burgeoning nation, but as it was I only wanted enough for myself (no one else in my family was interested in whatever “healthy” waffles I’d cook up.) So I tried to scale down the chocolate waffle recipe included in the manual for just one batch, but I got a little impatient and didn’t come up with the most accurate ratios, because I just couldn’t wait for my mini waffle destiny! I hopped to the kitchen, whipped up my experimental chocolate batter, popped it in the hot waffle maker…and ended up with 8 burnt chocolatey crisps. I spent the remainder of my morning scraping charred waffle bits off the waffle grids, contempt growing every minute I spent cleaning the accursed thing I’d spent so much time waiting for.

mini waffle maker

It even looks evil…

I spent the rest of that week dreading the weekend, when I knew I’d feel compelled to use my extra free time to try out the waffle maker again. I had a feeling the thing was out to get me…or at least out to sabotage all my attempts at making mini waffles. Still, I’d spent my gift cards, I’d waited this long, and I wasn’t ready to give up just yet.

This weekend, I made a plan. I appeased the waffle maker, following the instructions in that booklet for a huge waffle recipe, with only a few guaranteed-to-work tweaks to make the waffles healthier. With trembling hands, I plugged in the machine, and respectfully spooned in little globs of batter when it was ready. Ever so gently I closed the lid and waited for my waffles to cook. Before my eyes flashed visions of charred chocolate batter, of scraping the grids until I got hand cramps, of the shiny blue horror’s (implied) malicious grin mocking me yet again as it had last week. I had a feeling this week would be no different. All I could do was wait and hope…

3 minutes later, I popped open the lid to discover a batch of soft, round chocolate mini waffles, staring up at me innocently like they didn’t know how much pain and suffering had been endured to engender their existence. I was so happy I could cry. (Almost.) My mom was enticed by the cute size and chocolatey smell and tried one. She told me it was good, but I had to slave away another several batches before the huge bowl of batter was used up and I could taste for myself. When I did, I was not disappointed. The waffles were very chocolatey, and had the perfect texture. Topping them with banana slices and chocolate chips really took things to the next level.

chocolate mini waffles sunbeam mini waffle maker

I think this is the start of a lasting partnership with the Sunbeam Mini Waffle Maker. All it took was compromise, and things ran quite smoothly from there. I would like the contraption to be a bit easier to clean, but this is a problem to be worked out in the future. For now, I’m content to celebrate my triumph  – I got the waffle maker to give me adorable little mini waffles! As a token of my happiness, I will share the recipe with you guys. But be warned –  waffle makers are nasty creatures, and at first will not want to work with you. They have to be won over with kindness, perseverance, and compromise. Once you make friends with your waffle maker, you will have a profitable companionship for years to come.

Chocolate Mini Waffles

based on instruction manual and recipe booklet for Sunbeam Mini Waffle Maker

makes about 46 mini waffles (5-6 batches)

mini waffles chocolate sunbeam waffle maker with banana

Ingredients:

mini waffle batter

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 cup Truvia baking blend
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1/4 cup Justin’s chocolate hazelnut butter
  • 2 eggs (I used Lucerne brand egg substitute)
  • 3/4 cup So Delicious brand plain coconut milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

for topping

  • banana slices
  • chocolate chips

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients. Mix. Add wet ingredients, mix well.

When waffle maker is ready, pour batter onto grids. Cook for 2 1/2 to 3 minutes, or until steam no longer escapes from waffle maker. Remove waffles with a plastic fork or wooden tongs. Close waffle maker until Ready light indicates it is ready to make another batch.

When waffles are done, serve warm with sliced banana and chocolate chips. (I microwaved the chocolate chips a bit so they were a little melty, almost like fudge sauce.)

chocolate mini waffle with banana

(These directions are based on my Sunbeam Mini Waffle Maker. Refer to instruction manual for your own waffle maker for the most accurate directions for your own waffle maker.)

You Might Also Like:

Perfect Pumpkin Pancake for One

pumpkin pancake for one with chocolate yogurt raisins and cranberries

2 responses

  1. You must have bought a wild, rather than a domesticated, wafflemaker.

    1. The wildest – shipped in from the exotic landscape of Amazon.com!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

