Veggie Spring Rolls with Butternut Squash

veggiespringroll1

I’d been wanting to make veggie spring rolls for an eternity, but never did. I always imagined it would require esoteric ingredients from far corners of the earth, and that once I collected all the ingredients I’d be slaving away for hours daintily crafting my professional spring rolls. As it turns out, neither of those things were necessarily the case: all the ingredients I needed were either in the fridge, or at the local grocery store. Maybe my California veggie mix didn’t make for authentic spring rolls from any particular country, but it worked. And as for actually making the rolls, it was much easier than I’d predicted. However: this is not a professional recipe. Don’t make these for the queen of Spring-Roll-Land. She’ll chop off your head.

What I mean to say is, while the rolls tasted great, they were no supermodels in the realm of spring rolls. When it got down to it, I had no idea how to wrap them properly. Yes, I could have gone online and watched a video tutorial…but my hands were all greasy and the oven was hot and all my beautiful vegetables were decomposing by the minute and I really didn’t feel like sitting through ten minutes of some video that might or might not be highly annoying and highly NOT entertaining. I’ve been there before.

So I just kind of played around for a while, trying to figure out how it should be done. I tried several different techniques, a few of which resulted in the wrapper falling open the second I let go of it. I recalled experienced Chipotle chefs effortlessly rolling up burritos in record time as I’d watched, and now tried to emulate their smooth moves, but the rolls just looked like a mess. I tried some fancy triangular trick like I was folding napkins for a formal dinner…let’s just say I’ve never successfully folded napkins for a formal dinner before. Eventually I just let go of the notion that these were going to look attractive, and arranged them haphazardly just so they’d stay closed while they baked in the oven.

trying to make veggie spring rolls

All shapes and sizes…

Ten minutes later, the rolls were out of the oven, and it came time for the real test. Regardless of looks, how did the little packages taste? Could they possibly be delicious enough to compensate for their unprofessional appearance?

veggie spring roll butternut squash with hummus and avocado

First bite, and the results were in: yes. Oh, yes, these spring rolls are tasty enough to eat without prejudice. Slather with hummus, garnish with avocado, and get ready for a crispy, flavorful treat! Hearty butternut squash contrasts well with chopped spring veggies and mushrooms, and itsy bitsy fresh pepper morsels add just enough spice. The only change I would suggest for this recipe is maybe to double it, especially if you have a large family! Enjoy.

Veggie Spring Rolls with Butternut Squash

makes 6 spring rolls

veggie spring rolls out of the oven

Ingredients:

  • 6 Nasoya brand egg roll wrappers
  • 1 1/2 cups cubed butternut squash
  • 2 sweet mini peppers, chopped to little bits
  • pinch of sage
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil (I used Lizzie’s Kitchen brand Roasted Garlic flavor Dipping and Grilling Oil)
  • 1 cup mixed veggies (I used Mann’s rainbow salad, a blend of their copyrighted “cauliflower hearts,” cabbage, carrots, & mini broccoli pieces)
  • 1/2 cup white sliced mushrooms, chopped into small pieces
  • another 1/2 tsp olive oil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 Fahrenheit. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil, and spray with cooking spray.

First, roast the squash and peppers: Toss together the cubed squash, pepper pieces, sage, and 1/2 tsp olive oil. Spread in one layer on prepared baking sheet. Bake in 400 degree oven for 10 minutes, stopping in the middle to rotate veggies.

When done roasting, remove from oven. Leave the oven preheated!

Next, assemble spring rolls: toss together the mixed veggies and mushrooms with the squash and pepper mixture. Lay 6 egg roll wrappers flat on sprayed foil on cookie sheet. (I just re-sprayed the same foil previously used to roast the veggies.)

Place mixed vegetables in the center of each wrapper. Wrap around vegetables using whatever method you like (don’t ask me how to do it professionally; each of my spring rolls ended up different!:) )

trying to wrap veggie spring rolls

Brush tops of spring rolls with another 1/2 tsp olive oil. Bake in 400 Fahrenheit oven for 10 minutes, or until edges are golden brown.

Enjoy warm with soy sauce (my mom’s preference) or Otria brand Roasted Red Pepper Hummus and avocado (my favorite!!!)

butternut squash veggie spring roll

I will definitely be making veggie spring rolls again. Perhaps someday, if I practice my rolling skills, they’ll turn out beautiful enough even for the queen of Spring-Roll-Land to suffer a taste!

One response

  1. I’m sure your computer keyboard is glad you didn’t try watching a video tutorial mid-cooking session!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

