Bon Voyage Rugelach

israeli chocolate cream cheese rugelach puff pastry

Wish me bon voyage, everyone – I’m going to Israel!

Yes, I know they speak Hebrew there, and if I walk up to someone in my American-flag baseball cap and pungent sunscreen asking, “parlez-vous francais?” I’ll probably just get a bunch of weird looks. (So much for my two years of language class.) But what I love about the world is the diversity of different cultures that are all distinctive, yet at the same time can find ways of blending together to create interesting things. This phenomenon is most evident in multicultural places such as California. In my California kitchen, in fact, is where I created these Israeli Chocolate Cheese Rugelach to celebrate my upcoming trip, as well as the diversity of cultures and the best that some few out of a myriad nations have to offer here in the U.S. in terms of food products. I didn’t incorporate representatives from every corner of the earth in these croissant-esque cookies, but I did combine some elements from various different parts of the world and I think this would be a great dessert to bring to any table. If you like, add your favorite flavors from elsewhere on the globe! As you’ll see in the ingredient description, these cookies are already bursting with multicultural materials.

israeli chocolate rugelach

Rugelach is a traditional Jewish pastry, sort of like a pinwheel cookie with a pie-crust-like exterior wrapped around sweet fillings such as raisins, nuts or sugar. Usually cream cheese is included in the pastry shell. But my version has cream cheese in the filling, Swiss cheese made in America to be exact. And that cheese is blended with real Israeli milk chocolate, which I received at an orientation for my Israel trip. I thought the packaging for the chocolate was pretty amazing: all the information on it was written in English, Hebrew and French. Try chocolat au lait paired with Swiss cream cheese -it’s a killer combination. And I gave it a tropical twist with coconut flakes and dried cranberries before rolling up these pinwheel cookies. By the way, the pastry shell for these cookies is made from frozen puff pastry. And not just any frozen puff pastry – puff pastry from Aussie Bakery, a traditional Australian bakery located in Seattle, Washington.

So I think these cookies truly encompass the diversity I enjoy as a resident of the very multicultural California – all different cultures originating from all over the world, wrapped up together in an unbroken circle of sweetness. And the only thing sweeter than a global sentiment is a delicious chocolatey cookie adorned with chocolate drizzle.

israeli cheese chocolate rugelach

 

Wherever you live, whatever your flavor preferences are, give this recipe a try. I know it’s a winner (at least with my mom) because she urged me to store the cookies in the freezer, traditionally reserved for only the best of my baked goods as there simply isn’t room to store everything. She also made sure to note precisely where in the cluttered freezer I placed the cookies, and returned day after day to enjoy them. I have been warned that by the time I return from my trip in early July, the rugelach I made before parting will be nothing but a memory.

These cookies are tasty warm, with the chocolate drizzle melting down a warm, croissant-like pastry. But I found I preferred them cold, straight from the freezer with a minimal amount of thawing or defrosting. Whatever style of cookie consumption you choose, I hope you do make and enjoy these multicultural cookies.

Click here for the full recipe: Israeli Chocolate Cheese Rugelach

milk chocolate cream cheese Israeli chocolate cheese rugelach with puff pastry

4 responses

  1. I didn’t know you were eating them frozen! I was dutifully warming each one up to forestall your disdain.

    1. Oh, do warm them enough that they’re not hard like rocks! Just don’t let them get too hot, as they are better chilled.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

