Breakfast with Tarzan

images

Sometimes I think of what foods I would make for my favorite childhood characters. It may seem like a mundane thing to fantasize about, but when you’re a chef and a food blogger (not to mention a shameless teenage Disney addict!) it makes sense that this is the direction your mind should wander.

For instance: I would give Winnie the Pooh a honey cake, but maybe one with less sugar to assist him in watching his waistline! For Snow White I would bake a peach or cherry pie (anything with apple in it would probably give her post-traumatic stress, poor child.) I would be a little intimidated by the prospect of cooking anything for Remy (the rat from Disney’s “Ratatouille”) since he’s a much fancier chef than I could ever hope to be…maybe I’d just let him cook me something. Above all, I think my cat would eat well the day I introduced a little rodent chef into our home!

But what does one make for Tarzan the ape-man? It must include bananas (obviously) but what else? It should be complicated enough to spark the higher gastronomical intellect that resides in the brain of any human, even one who has grown up with gorillas who must be content with unadulterated bananas. It should be healthy enough to fuel him for plenty of swinging through the trees, but also sweet and delicious enough to get that serotonin kicking in (because you never know when a gorilla-guy is going to decide to bite your head off!)

The solution:

Caramelpecanbananablissparfait

 

I think I’ve nailed the magic formula with this sinfully sweet yogurt parfait. Less processed cereal and non-GMO yogurt with fresh banana makes it closer to nature, whilst salted caramel flavor provides that lovely flavor of the high living all humans crave. A good balance of nutrients complete with fiber, protein, calcium, and potassium, this luscious cup of layers would be a perfect breakfast to serve Tarzan in the treetops before a day of riding the vines or fighting off evil wild predators. But I suggest doubling the recipe – he’s a big guy, and you know he’ll scarf down the whole thing before you get to taste a bite!

Caramel Pecan Banana Bliss Parfait

serves one

Great Grains pecan caramel banana yogurt parfait

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup Post brand Great Grains Crunchy Pecans cereal
  • one container Brown Cow brand Greek Salted Caramel on the Bottom yogurt
  • 1/2 banana, sliced

Directions:

In a tall glass, layer cereal, yogurt, and banana slices until all ingredients are used up.

You can do this however you like – my strategy, if you’re curious, was this: I layered first cereal, then yogurt, then a few banana slices, then more cereal, yogurt, banana, and repeated the process until I had a gorgeous glass full of yum!

caramel greek yogurt parfait banana pecan

One response

  1. Your funniest blog yet! I love the part about the cat eating well.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

