Vanilla PB Chip Protein Frappe

vanilla peanut butter chocolate chip coconut great grains ice blended frappe

When I was a kid, I always used to love getting an ice blended drink at cafés like Starbucks, Coffee Bean, etc. Whenever my parents made a pit stop there for coffee, my little brother and I would request ice blended drinks. While my brother’s inevitable flavor choice was chocolate, I alternated between different flavors, never able to decide if my favorite was the indulgent chocolate, or creamy, rich vanilla, or even the fruity flavors I sometimes enjoyed. But I could only have one a day, and it was always an important decision to make: what flavor would I have today?

Years have passed since the golden age of ice blended drinks in our family. A lot has changed: I’m too health-oriented these days to think of drinking a plastic cup full of empty calories, plus they took my brother’s favorite chocolate drink off the menu and he has never fully recovered from the blow enough to give any of their other offerings a chance. I haven’t gotten an ice blended from a café in ages. But every once in a while, I remember how I used to love slurping and gulping down those icy drinks, especially in the summer. So today, I decided to give homemade frappes a whirl.

vanilla ice blended pre-toppings

With my own personalized, homemade ice blended drink, I can control all the ingredients that go into it and make it healthy. This way, I won’t have to worry so much about choosing just one flavor – with an ice blended drink this high in protein and calcium, it’s perfectly acceptable to have one in each flavor in the universe! But I wouldn’t do them all one after another… unlike its commercial inspiration, this frappe is very filling. It will also give you brain freeze if you drink it too fast, so sip slow and savor!

Vanilla PB Chip Protein Frappe

inspired by recipe on Overtime Cook

makes one generous serving

homemade vanilla protein frappe

Ingredients:

  • 1 container (12 fl oz) Lucerne Protein Light Vanilla Protein Fortified Dairy Beverage
  • 1/3 + 1/4 cup plain almond milk
  • 1 tbs creamy peanut butter
  • handful of semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup Post brand Great Grains Crunchy Pecans cereal
  • 1 tbs sweetened flaked coconut

Directions:

The night before you want to make this, pour Lucerne Protein beverage into an ice cube tray and freeze overnight.

The next day: Remove frozen cubes, a few at a time, and cut into smaller pieces with a knife. Place pieces in blender with some almond milk, and blend until roughly blended to the consistency of a frappe. Repeat this process with the rest of the cubes, adding several at a time, until all are crushed. (I found that in some cases stirring the mixture with a knife was more effective than the blender! Just do whatever works.)

Add in some chocolate chips and most of the peanut butter. Blend for a few more seconds.

Pour frappe into tall glass. Pop in your straw and top it all off with remaining peanut butter, the cereal and coconut.

Now slurp away!

You Might Also Like:

Dessert for Breakfast! Day One: Baked Apples ‘n’ Cream Smoothie

dessert for breakfast day one apple caramel vanilla smoothie parfait

 

3 responses

  1. Sometimes there’s no substitute for real sin, but this looks pretty good, too.

  2. I’m so glad my drink inspired such a delicious looking one on your end!

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

SANTA MONICA BAY AUDUBON SOCIETY BLOG

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter - - - - - SMBAS, P.O. Box 35, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

