Cream Cheese Scramble Toasts

cream cheese scrambled egg toasts

When I laid out this plate on the table and proceeded to try and take pictures of it, I was confronted with a strange issue: my digital camera was insisting upon being in “Auto mode,” whatever that means, and warning me that it would automatically choose what ISO to use and focus automatically. Basically, I had no choice in the matter. I tried to change the setting, but the familiar list of myriad settings had been replaced by a paltry enumeration of the few options available in Auto mode. There was no escaping it – not even by turning the camera off and on. So before my eggs got cold, I just resigned myself to snapping some pics in Auto. Luckily they didn’t turn out too horrific.

Later, I tried tinkering around with the camera – after looking at the settings so many times I was ready to throw the thing against a wall, I aimlessly flipped a switch clearly positioned near the shutter. I didn’t expect anything miraculous to happen – certainly not the notification on the digital screen that it was now in “Picture mode: set various camera functions.” When had I switched it to Auto mode, and why? Some of life’s mysteries will never be elucidated to us: I will never understand half the things that camera does, or what its motives are. I’ve come to accept my permanent ignorance in such great workings of entities more complex than us humans.

breakfast egg toast cream cheese cherub tomato spinach

However, one mystery I have been able to solve is how to put together a yummy, healthy vegetarian breakfast on a busy morning. Whole wheat toast topped with savory spreading cheese, hot scrambled eggs, and veggies/fruit (tomatoes are fruits) is a varied, delicious dish that can be thrown together in 10-15 minutes. Complete with whole grains, bone-building calcium, nourishing protein, filling fiber and vibrant vitamins A, C, and iron, this flavorful meal is one you can feel good about enjoying any day of the week! Feel free to fancify it by changing up the veggies and adding spices – I just tossed this together with what I had lying around.

Cream Cheese Scramble Toasts

serves 1-2

breakfast toast scramble spinach cherubs cream cheese

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices whole wheat bread
  • 2 Laughing Cow cheese wedges: Mozzarella, Sundried Tomato, and Basil flavor
  • 3 cups fresh, washed baby spinach
  • 3 NatureSweet Cherubs brand grape tomatoes, washed and chopped
  • 1 egg

Directions:

Toast bread. Meanwhile, spray a small pan with nonstick cooking spray. Place spinach and chopped grape tomatoes in pan.

Beat egg and pour into pan over spinach and tomatoes. Cook over medium, scrambling egg and wilting spinach.

When done cooking, remove from heat. Spread toasted bread with Laughing Cow cheese. Top with cooked eggs.

Enjoy immediately.

4 responses

  1. Enjoy immediately – unless your camera isn’t working, lol

    1. Sometimes we bloggers must sacrifice deliciousness for documentation 🙂 Luckily these didn’t get cold before I gave up.

  2. Those look good and I even have spinach and tomatoes.

What Do You Think?

Etrange et Insolite

Ici tout est bizarre !

Santa Monica Bay Audubon Blog

The Official SMBAS Online Newsletter

•M•U•G•N•A•

with lesser words

indahs: dive, travel & photography

cities - cultures - ocean - marine life

charityjanisse

Art, Poetry, Thoughts, Photos I've taken and Random things that inspire me.

Underwater University

Teaching about fish in the ocean

O at the Edges

Musings on poetry, language, perception, numbers, food, and anything else that slips through the cracks.

jdubqca

poetry by j matthew waters

Fictional Kevin

Cigar Fueled Creative Writing

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

Polishmewithglitter

Because bare nails are boring.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Triceranails

blog of a manicure addict

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

